SSTA Two Strike Days Announced

The SSTA National Executive Committee has authorised 2 days of targeted strike action on Wednesday 7 December and Thursday 8 December in pursuit of a fair and just pay settlement for 2022. 

Catherine Nicol, SSTA President said
“The Executive Committee felt it had no option but to move to strike action due to the failure of the employers (COSLA) and the Scottish Government to make an improved pay offer. The last pay offer was made on the 19 August and was quickly rejected by the teacher unions. Despite a series of engagements not even one more penny has been put on the table”.

“Teachers have had enough of fine words and are being forced to take strike action to achieve an improved pay award. I hope the Scottish Government will step up and help to avoid teacher strikes that nobody wants”.

Seamus Searson, SSTA General Secretary said
“This common practice of waiting to the last minute to reach a pay agreement shows a complete lack of respect for teachers as this pay award should have been paid in April. Teachers pay has fallen in real terms by 25% over the years and the failure to act promptly only adds to teachers’ frustration”. 

“The SSTA strike action will take place over two days and is intended to send a clear message to COSLA and Scottish Government that teachers are serious about fair pay deal”

The list of local authorities and the days that strike action will take place are: 

Wednesday 7 December 2022

  • Argyll and Bute
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • Eilean Siar
  • Glasgow, City of 
  • Highland
  • Inverclyde
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Orkney
  • Renfrewshire
  • Shetland
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • West Dunbartonshire

Thursday 8 December 2022

  • Aberdeen, City of 
  • Angus
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dundee City
  • Edinburgh, City of
  • East Lothian
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • Midlothian
  • Moray
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Scottish Borders
  • Stirling
  • West Lothian